Organizational Structure

The constitution adopted in 1985, revised as bylaws in 2003, and amended in 2007 and 2010, serve as the governing guidelines.

NNLSO officers include:

  • Executive Director
  • Assistant Executive Director
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Journal Editor
  • Web Editor

The Board of Directors comprises seven members elected from the general membership.

The Executive Committee comprises the officers and the board; committee members serve two-year terms. The outgoing Executive Director is an ex officio member of the committee.

Standing and ad hoc committees are selected by the Executive Committee, and chairs of these committees are selected by the executive director.

Nominations and elections take place annually during the winter and the results are announced at the annual business meeting and published in the next issue of the Journal.

Voting Rights/Committee Governance

For balloting purposes, all fully paid active members and designated members under an institutional membership are eligible to vote and serve on standing or ad hoc committees.

Membership in the Association or participation in any activity of the Association shall not be denied to any individual, or abridged on account of race, color, religion, sex, age, national or ethnic origin, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression, disability, or veteran status.